Derby Girl or Flailing Giraffe

20131118-083840.jpg

Two weeks ago today I embarked on a new adventure, renegade roller derby. I have wanted to play derby for years, but I was the kid in the skating rink who was sickened when they told everyone to clear the rink because I was always at the farthest point from the rink exit and was clinging to the wall for dear life.

However, at the Tucson Comic Con I met a group of amazing women told me that I didn’t need to learn how to skate, they would teach me. I just needed to show up on Monday. So Monday I show up with shiny skates, protective gear, this cute little helmet! I spent the next two hours clinging on to my coaches arm and falling on various body parts.

Fast Forward two weeks and I am no longer needing to hold on to someone to skate. I am falling less, but still falling. I have lost almost 8 pounds and gained about five new bruises. I get so extremely frustrated I throw my gear and scream profanities across the track, pick it all up, gear back up, and get back up. I have even cried, which is not something I like to do in public. I am not at the level the other girls are, but I remind myself (ok the entire team reminds me) I have been skating for 2 weeks! And it’s been the best damn two weeks!!

One thought on “Derby Girl or Flailing Giraffe

  1. Clit Eatwood says:

    We love you Slam Cakes! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a comment