Lessons learned in the past 16 days

In the past two weeks I have found a new side of myself. I have discovered a new passion and a new love in my life! Going down that road I have learned some life lessons.

1.) I have discovered a competitive nature I didn’t know I had, not only against other people but against myself. This sounds like it would be beneficial to growth and all that, but it has lead to some serious frustration on my part. I want to be where everyone else is, speedily skating around the track, learning to block and hit, etc. Instead, I am this timid skater who is going to be an easy target on the track.

2.) I overthink things WAY too much. Last night during practice, I was told to focus on my coach. I did and holy shit! I was skating! The moment I went back to thinking about what I had to do, on my butt I fell!

3.) Derby isn’t a hobby! It is a sport but more than that, it’s a lifestyle and baby, I’m hooked. I wake up barely able to move because I am using muscles I didn’t know I had and my first thought isn’t “what am I doing?” my thought is, “when the hell do I get to practice?”

4.) The girls on my team aren’t teammates. They aren’t friends. They are family! I have never walked into a group of people and felt so welcomed and loved! There are girls on this team who know exactly what I am feeling. We have similar stories. We get each other. I know if anything was to happen on track and off most, if not all, of these girls would have my back!

So maybe isn’t life shattering news for some of my readers but it is important to me. I have finally found a place where I belong. I am accepted 100%! No one thinks I am weird. I don’t have to hold back. I can be myself. I can cry, scream, cuss and shout and as long as I get my ass back up and try again, I am going to make my spot on this team.

20131119-143341.jpg

2 thoughts on “Lessons learned in the past 16 days

  1. Sarah says:

    I’m so proud of you!!! Glad to hear from you on here too!!! I’d love to try derby, but i’m currently working on walking and running.

Leave a comment